Lemon Water

29 Jun

tumblr_mbstdkcSYB1ruy7xuo1_400

For several weeks now, my husband and I have been drinking warm lemon water almost every morning. I first read about this practice on Food Babe, and decided to try it…although we don’t add cayenne pepper to our drink like Vani does. I have since read about the benefits of drinking warm lemon water elsewhere, and I thought I should share this little health tip with you. Try it for a few weeks, and let me know what you think!

We drink our warm lemon water first thing in the morning, before we eat or drink anything else. I keep my lemons in a bowl on my kitchen counter, they juice easier if they are at room temperature vs cold from the fridge. When I get up I run the largest glass of hot water from my Kuerig into my cup, then pour half of that into another cup for my husband. I add 1/2 cup of cold filtered water to each of our cups, and then squeeze in half a lemon (or a 1/4 for each cup). We end up with about 8oz each. Combining the super hot water with cold water makes it just right warm, and I can drink it right away.

Bottoms up for a healthier, happier you!

2 Responses to “Lemon Water”

  1. explorewithmeg June 30, 2013 at 12:59 am #

    I think I will try this! Do you drink coffee too? because I don’t think I could give up caffeine ahaha

    • tracy July 3, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

      I don’t! I used to drink iced coffee every morning, but I gave it up cold turkey when I started drinking lemon water when I get up. After my lemon water I drink organic teas and ice water throughout the day, careful to avoid teas with caffeine after 3:00pm. I honestly don’t miss the coffee at all 🙂 and I will occasionally have it as a treat when we go to a coffee shop.

Leave a Reply

