Green Smoothies (Recipe Included!)

30 May

The initial idea of adding green smoothies to our diet didn’t exactly excite anyone in my family, so I signed up for a 30 day challenge I read about on Unconventional Kitchen to get us started. Each day during the month of May I got an email with a new green smoothie recipe. I also got an email with a shopping list a couple days before the challenge started.

To be honest, I did not go out and purchase everything on the shopping list. We also are not drinking a green smoothie every day like the challenge suggests. BUT, we tried the first recipe this past weekend, two different ways, on Sunday and Monday, and everyone loved it! My 8 year old and my 5 year old had no idea they were drinking a smoothie with spinach in it, but I made a point of telling them after they had slurped it down. I wanted them to know that they had had spinach and actually like it, which will hopefully translate into them being more accepting of it in other recipes in the future.

Here is the recipe we tried:

Basic Green Smoothie
Serves 2
3/4 C of almond milk, water, coconut water
1-2 handfuls of greens (spinach, kale, collard greens, etc.)
1/2 banana
1 C of frozen fruit; apples, oranges, pears, pineapple, etc.
Dates or raw honey to sweeten
Optional superfood booster: flax, chia seeds, kefir

Fill the blender with greens, add liquid. Add frozen fruit, bananas, any optional ingredients, and blend until smooth. If mixture is too chunky and not blending well, add more liquid.

I used raw milk as our liquid, spinach, frozen fruit (raspberries one morning, and blackberries the next), and flax seed as our superfood booster. The first day I added raw honey, but I didn’t think it really needed it, so they next day I didn’t add any sweetener at all and no one missed it.

Try a green smoothie this week…I dare you!

Leave a Reply

