Healthy Lifestyles Chair (PTA)

10 May

kids-jumping

I am so excited to have the opportunity to be the first Healthy Lifestyles Chair to serve on the PTA at my daughter’s elementary school during the 2013-2014 school year! This position did not exist at her school, so when I read about it I contacted the PTA president and asked her to let me take it on. She gave me the role!

I will be working under our SHAC (School Health Advisory Council) Representative, and will attend SHAC meetings as well. I will promote healthy lifestyles programs like Walk to School Day, Bike to School Day, etc.

I plan on using my position to try and influence the school to make adjustments to the school cafeteria menu. I recently requested a list of all the items served during the month of April, and I plan on doing a lot of research over the summer to find healthier options. The first issue I plan to tackle is the beverages they are serving the students. I will present my findings to them at the beginning of the school year, and hope to convince the staff to make needed changes.

I feel like this role will put me in a better position to be an agent for change. We need to take steps in the right direction, towards healthy eating and healthy living. I can’t wait to get started!

One Response to “Healthy Lifestyles Chair (PTA)”

  1. suburbanworkingmom May 11, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    What a wonderful opportunity! My daughter starts kindergarten this fall… I’ll have to check in to our PTA. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

