Email and Facebook: Why I am Cutting Back

12 Apr

I get so many emails everyday, 64 on Sunday alone (I just counted), that it takes a lot of my time to read them all and respond when necessary…too much time. I know a lot of you feel the same way!

I made the decision a couple weeks ago to cut back on the amount of time I spend reading and answering emails. When I sit down at my computer now during the day, which I usually do in-between other things (dishes, laundry, cleaning house, kids stuff, etc.), I will read and answer three emails. Just three. This means that I am always behind on my email, and I have to be ok with that. It definitely wasn’t easy the first couple days! Currently I have 350 unread emails in my inbox, and another 182 in my spam folder. I am ok with that!

I did worry at first how other people would react to this. We live in a world where instant gratification rules, so how would people react when I didn’t respond to their email for several days? I have gotten a comment or two about why I’m not responding to email as quickly, but for the most part the reaction has been minimal. What if I miss something important, or don’t read it for several days? I feel like if it is that important, that person should call or send me a text.

In addition to email, Facebook was one of my bigger time wasters. I would usually spend an hour on the couch every evening browsing through Facebook posts while my husband watched TV and our girls were asleep. I know there are better ways I can use that time, but I don’t think I should have to give up Facebook altogether (it is a form of entertainment that I enjoy), so instead I only check Facebook from my iphone while waiting in the pickup line at my girls school, or waiting in the reception area of the doctor’s office, etc.

While neither of these things (email and Facebook) are wrong, I do feel like cutting back on the amount of time I devote to them is in keeping with simplifying my life and spending the time I am given wisely. If you have come to a similar conclusion in your life, please let me know in the comments, I would love to hear about it!

One Response to “Email and Facebook: Why I am Cutting Back”

  1. Auntie A April 12, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    You are very wise:) I can relate. Sometimes it helps me if I visualize what I look like to my kids and if I am bent over my phone or glued to a screen is that the way I want to be viewed or is that how I want our relationship to be like?:) I have to work on not checking my phone too much. Good post!

Leave a Reply

