Sugar Everywhere You Turn

4 Apr

Now that we are truly committed to eating clean/whole foods and making a conscious effort to eliminate anything artificial, genetically modified, highly processed, and/or with excess sugar from our diets, it is quite astounding the amount of sugary treats that our girls get from other people. These sugary treats are coming to them from every possible angle….the school cafeteria, teachers, classmates, friends and their parents, family, neighbors, and even stores. I have left the bank and the post office with my youngest in tears this week because I wouldn’t let her have one of the suckers they hand out! While I am ok with our girls having the occasional sugary treat, I have to come up with creative ways to eliminate as much of the rest of it that I can without turning into the mean mom that is always telling her children no (I do enough of that already!).

Knowing that my youngest had an egg hunt scheduled at her preschool last week, I went into that day prepared. When I picked her up from school I told her she could pick three eggs that had candy inside to keep, and she could also keep any eggs that didn’t have candy. Personally, I filled the eggs I sent to school with little trinkets instead of candy (bracelets and rings for the girls, bouncy balls and poppers for the boys, and stickers for all). I knew she had 13 eggs (13 students in her class). I had previously purchased a new mini LalaLoopsy doll (she loves them), and told her I would trade it for the rest of the candy filled eggs. This is what I ended up trading for and throwing in the trash…

photo(23)

Unfortunately I have not yet had a plan for what to do on a day to day basis when my girls are given sugary treats…a piece of candy here, a cupcake there, and so on. For this reason I have come up with the following list of things that they can trade in their sugary treats for, in hopes that it will ease the pain of me saying no almost all the time and throwing away their loot.

1 piece of candy = .25 (this can be saved until they have enough to buy a new toy or something else they want)

Cupcake/piece of cake/cookies/etc = their choice of the following: stay up 30 minutes later on a weekend night, movie night pick, healthy treat, or $1.00

I originally got the idea for a system of trading from Lisa over at 100 Days of Real Food. I absolutely love her blog, and have learned so much from her! With all that I have learned, from Lisa and others, it has been life changing to say the least. A few weeks ago I felt so guilty after buying one of my daughter’s friends two big movie size boxes of candy to go with the DVD we got her for her birthday…I won’t be doing that anymore! Knowledge is power, but it has also created a delicate issue when it comes to others giving us things we chose not to eat on a regular basis. I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings, but at the same time I don’t want to always be compromising our health. I hope to be able to find a good balance, and handle gifts of sugar with grace.

Leave a Reply

