No Screens on Sunday

23 Mar

no-tvI recently read a post by Tsh over on Simple Mom about taking leave from screens on Sundays, and I felt inspired to make that change in my own home. Technology is an important part of our day to day lives, but sometimes it gets in the way of actually living our lives. Between our televisions, computers, ipads and cell phones, it’s no wonder we don’t have time to do the things we say we really want to do.

Last Sunday was our first screen free Sunday, and let me tell you it was fantastic. There seemed to be more hours in the day, granted we didn’t have to be anywhere that particular day which helped. A couple times I felt the urge to go to my computer, and I did actually have to turn it on to get the online recipe I was making for dinner, otherwise it was untouched. Our girls didn’t seem to mind at all that they couldn’t turn on the TV or use the ipad, they stayed busy doing other things like playing together. I was able to get things done around the house, read, and play with the girls. What a nice day!

We are going to continue No Screens Sundays, because I believe we will continue to benefit from those days as a family. Try it one day a week, and let me know how it feels!

Leave a Reply

