Cutting Out Sugar

7 Mar

As part of my goal to move my family towards a whole foods diet, I am trying to cut out sugar. Who would have thought that it would be so difficult to cut out artificial and refined sugars?! Apparently there is a long long list of sweeteners that I have to keep an eye out for as I read ingredients lists.

The sugars that I am ok with in our diet are all natural, and unrefined. Here is a list of the sweeteners that made the cut based on the research I have done:

Local raw unfiltered honey
Organic coconut palm sugar
Date sugar
and Organic pure maple syrup

Start looking at the list of ingredients on products before you buy them, it is so important to know what we are putting into our bodies…and more importantly the little growing bodies of our children. You will be amazed/shocked at all the products that have unnecessarily been sweetened.

sugar-or-artificial-sweeteners

4 Responses to “Cutting Out Sugar”

  1. Ani Danelz March 7, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    Good luck to you! I consider myself a very healthy eater, but this challenge would be difficult for me. I use homemade jam for my sandwiches and though that’s better, I know it is high on sugar. If you’re in need of a good breakfast recipe, try my apple pie baked oatmeal here http://milesforthought.wordpress.com/2013/03/02/apple-pie-baked-oatmeal/ it’s the perfect morning pick me up without any added sugar!

    • tracyleegreen March 7, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      Thank you, and thank you for the recipe, I will definitely try it! I have been making something similar, but with Bananas, called Banana Bread Oatmeal. It definitely fills me up, and my oldest likes it too!

      • Ani Danelz March 7, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

        I’ve done a banana bread version as well! So good. Have you tried a pumpkin pie variation? Just use canned pumpkin as your base with cinnamon/nutmeg. Might be my favorite of the bunch!

  2. tracyleegreen March 7, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    Ohhh, that sounds good, I love pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

