Are We Tolerant of Opinions That Differ From Our Own?

8 Feb

I am in the beginning stages of researching home school as a possibility for our family, and I am finding out very quickly that parents of opposite sides of the issue sometimes have negative opinions about each other. This reminds me of another debate…working moms vs. stay at home moms. I have found that people can be very intolerant, even downright hateful, of people with opinions that differ from their own. Working moms vs stay at home moms. Public school vs home school. In the end I think we all want the same thing…the best for our children.

I’m am definitely not perfect, there have been times I have judged when I should not, but I am going to make it my goal to deal with others with grace. If we all dealt a little more patiently, graciously, and kindly with each other, we could improve the world we live in enormously.

3 Responses to “Are We Tolerant of Opinions That Differ From Our Own?”

  1. withlovecoach February 8, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

    Beautiful, thank you. We do all just want the very best for our children. And, since no one child is the same as another, no one parenting path is the same as another. Sending empowering thoughts your way as you make this schooling decision.

    With love,
    Amanda
    withlovecoach.com

  2. godmadeknown February 8, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    Yes, those two topics are bound to ruffle a few feathers but that’s to be expected when it comes to anything concerning kids. That is, after all, what we Moms tend to be most passionate about. I would hope every mom would have a good, healthy opinion on either side of the subject because her kids and their upbringing are her greatest concern. But I totally agree with you that we all have to get better at expressing things with more love. Thanks for encouraging us all toward that end.

  3. mawarre February 9, 2013 at 1:20 am #

    It makes me sad that women can sometimes be hateful towards other women’s choices about raising their children, when we could be so much more supportive of each other. I have worked part time, used a nanny, a childcare centre, family support, and also been a full time stay at home mother during the parenting of my three children. I made the choices that were best for my children and also for our family, and loved it when other women were encouraging and helpful. I also tried to help out my friends who were working or studying when their children were small, by cooking a meal. picking up from school etc. ….all the little things that help out. Thanks for your lovely post that reminds us all that we can make different choices that work, and that grace is a balm to our spirits.

Leave a Reply

