Traveling Families

28 Jan

I have an acquaintance here in our town that, together with her husband, made the decision last year to travel the United States for a year as a family. They sold their house and most of their belongings, bought an RV, and pulled their two elementary school age boys out of public school. They have been on the road ever since! They are homeschooling the boys, and learning by seeing and doing. They are experiencing the world first hand, and it is inspiring.

I recently discovered a blogger whose family has just embarked on a similar journey, although for them it is traveling around the world. They have four young children, two elementary school age and two younger, and will be home-schooling them as they travel. I will be following their adventures on their blog.

I find this life-style so attractive and inspiring. I love traveling, seeing new places, and experiencing new things with my family. I have issues with the public school system in Texas, and in the United States in general, so home-school (or some other alternative) is more appealing to me than in the past. However, I don’t know if we could ever take that leap ourselves…seems so crazy to even think about!

Are you a family that home-schools your children while traveling? Would you be interested in this kind of life adventure?

8 Responses to “Traveling Families”

  1. Kiwi January 28, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    This would be awesome to do. Travelling teaches you so much about life, why not get your kids started early. Hopefully one day I’ll meet someone who has the same idea.

  2. godmadeknown January 28, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    We are a homeschooling family with 4 boys and while we aren’t off traveling the world, homeschooling has definitely allowed and inspired us to seek out a life of adventure. We have moved several times, most recently to Hawaii, because we felt God calling us on another adventure. If our boys were enrolled in a traditional school there is no way we could have done the things we’ve done because we would be tied to someone else’s schedule and I wouldn’t have put them through the trauma of being pulled in and out of different schools and having to constantly readjust. As it is, where ever we go, whatever we do home is just us together and school is the adventure of where we’re at.

    • tracyleegreen January 28, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      Thank you for the comment! One of my biggest concerns with homeschooling vs traditional schooling is socialization and friendships for my girls. How do you ensure your boys get plenty of socialization time with other kids their age, and build lasting friendships?

      • godmadeknown January 29, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

        I tend to think that in general, social parents are going to have social kids. The opposite is also true which is why you can end up with a very unsocial kid who has spent 12 years of their life in the middle of a crowded school room. As far as “lasting” friendships go, those are more apt to form in adulthood. I’ve noticed children’s friendships are very different than adult ones. I have to laugh when my boys make references to “friends” that really they have only met one or two times and that could have been years ago. What’s “lasting” about kid’s friendships are the impressions they make. The most “lasting” friendships my boys have are the ones that are constantly maintained by our own friendships with the parents. As for our current circumstances, their are only three other families in our neighborhood. 2 of them consist of one little boy each but only speak Japanese in the home so our boys are lucky enough to be learning Japanese. The other family has 2 little girls who happen to be on our boys hockey team as well. All 8 of these kids play together all the time which is interesting because I doubt any of them would be close friends with each other in a normal school setting given their age, gender, and cultural differences. The other condos around ours are occupied primarily by retirees and vacationers so our boys have grown great relationships with older folks. The tourists sometimes include families which is always fun because then our boys get to play for a week or two with kids who come from all over the world. So, while it’s not a traditional “socialization” process they are undergoing, it’s a healthy, rich and diverse one, and like I said it’s what we as their parents make of it.
        Sorry, that was a lot more info than you probably wanted but it’s a great topic you started!

      • tracyleegreen January 29, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

        You are probably right, it is more about what the parents do or don’t do at this point! My oldest has two more years in elementary, and then will move on to a middle school that several elementary schools feed into, and I know her friendships will change for the most part at that point. Even now she has a new “best friend” each year based on who is in her classes 🙂

      • Lana February 1, 2013 at 2:34 am #

        I’ll just add a comment in here as someone who was homeschooled for 12 years. Socialization is an issue (I know homeschool parents disagree, but ask those of us who actually lived being homeschooled for 12 years, and we have a different story to tell). BUT it doesn’t have to be that way. First of all, travel is not social isolation. Its encountering people all the time. Second, even if you do homeschool, you can choose to do activities with kids who go to public and private schools, such as city sports, clubs, youth groups for religious people. I think the main point is make a conscious effort to be aware of your children’s social needs and don’t brush off socialization as a none issue.

      • tracyleegreen February 2, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

        Thank you for your comment! I was in public school K – 6th grade, and my parents put me in home school 7 – 12th grade. They didn’t have me in any kind of extra-curricular activity except for piano, so the only friendships I was able to maintain once I was in home school was church friends because they were the only kids I was ever around. I would definitely handle my daughter’s activities and friendships differently, but you can understand my concern about socialization comes from my own experiences as well.

  3. Lana February 1, 2013 at 2:29 am #

    I was homeschooled myself. As an adult, I moved to Asia, and took my foster kids traveling a lot, around the country and neighboring country. Travel is very reward. It opens up your eyes, makes kids more flexible, less selfish, like more foods. I can’t recommend it enough. Where money is a shortage, try camping!

Leave a Reply

