Questions of Reflection on 2012

31 Dec

Happy New Year’s Eve! Do you have big plans for tonight? Since having children we always stay home and toast the New Year with some sparkling cider with our girls before they go to bed, and then my husband and I will stay up and watch a movie, then watch the countdown on TV and have our own toast.

The new year also brings new resolutions, and I am always excited to see what the new year holds for us. Before we ring in 2013 though, I want to reflect a little on this past year, so here are some questions of reflection. I got the idea from this post over at (in)courage, but I chose to limit my answers to 10 of those questions. Feel free to use these questions to reflect on your 2012 as well!

1. What was the single best thing that happened this year? My husband receiving a nice bonus at work, along with our decent tax return. That allowed us to: Pay off debt, Purchase our girls their first swing set/playhouse, Purchase a nice in-ground basketball goal (which we have yet to have installed!), Purchase new furniture for our oldest (we have been working on updating her room for a year and a half…um yeah, slowly), Pay for a family vacation over spring break to Branson MO, and Re-build our mini emergency fund (baby step 1, which needs to be re-built again unfortunately).

2. What was the single most challenging thing that happened?  My Grandfather passing away, and my Grandmother being alone and living too far away to visit regularly.

3. What was an unexpected joy this year? We switched dance studios in the fall, and my oldest got to be in her first ballet The Nutcracker in November. It was a joy to watch her perform!

4. What was an unexpected obstacle? My husband found a lump on my back that turned out to be a benign tumor, and I had surgery to have it removed. Thankfully it was benign, it could have been much worse!

5. Pick three words to describe 2012? Fast, full, good

6. What were the best books you read this year? Sigh…unfortunately I haven’t finished a book this year. I have read parts of several books, but haven’t finished one. That is something I want to work on in 2013!

7. With whom were your most valuable relationships? My family and my friends. I don’t know if I am supposed to be more specific than that?

8. What was your biggest personal change from January to December this past year? I fell out of love with my photography business.

9. What was your single biggest time waster this year? The computer (facebook, email)

10. What was the best way you used your time this year? Volunteering at my girl’s schools, teaching a Girls on the Run group in the fall, doing a women’s Bible study in the summer and another in the fall, and playing women’s recreational volleyball with my friends.

Leave a Reply

